Newton Faulkner

Dreadlocked, laidback surfer dude troubadour doing tricksy stuff with acoustic guitars.

Big, beat-conscious and astonishingly diverse are not the adjectives that might have sprung immediately to mind with regard to Newton Faulkner in the past. He was the singer-songwriter once tagged ‘the British Jack Johnson’ and tossed in alongside sensitive, strumming troubadours in the tradition of Jackson Browne and James Taylor. He was the guy with the dreadlocks he had been cultivating since the age of 15, the one who flayed the hell out of an acoustic guitar whenever he played live. That was then. These days, Newton Faulkner is a different proposition, and his audacious new album, Human Love, is a colorful statement of intent. His fifth studio collection, and his first for new label BMG, it is an alluring maelstrom of rhythm and harmony. Embracing racing drums, African percussion, chanted choruses, ambient interludes and the most imposing hooks of his career to date, it combines a more forthright writing style with a greater emphasis on beats and texture. This fresh start also comes with a startling new look for the singer, who turned 30 this year. In the dramatic video accompanying his new single, Get Free, he can be seen unceremoniously taking a pair of scissors to those long locks. Getting rid of his trademark coiffure was something that Faulkner, fuelled by his current enthusiasm for change, was thinking of doing anyway. ‘I wasn’t forced into anything for the sake of the video,’ he says. ‘I was going to have them chopped off regardless. It seemed like the right time to do it.’ The new single sets an invigorating tone. An online hit three years ago for Major Lazer – the side-project of dance DJ and producer Diplo – it builds towards an epic, layered crescendo. Its dynamic grasp of light and shade is typical of Human Love, from the gleeful escapism of Up Up And Away to the soulful blues of Can I Be Enough and the heartfelt rawness of Break, a piece Newton describes as ‘the breather in the middle of the record’.

Found in:

Performance Dates & Venues

Chepstow

CADW: Chepstow Castle

01291 624065

Thursday 25th Aug 2022 6:00pm

Standard Prices from: £24.75

Llandrindod Wells

Llandrindod Wells Pavilion

Saturday 17th Sep 2022 7:30pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Bath

Komedia

0845 293 8480

Sunday 18th Sep 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Cheltenham

Cheltenham Town Hall

0844 576 2210

Tuesday 20th Sep 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £32.25

Newark

Palace Theatre

01636 655755

Thursday 22nd Sep 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £31.75

Bridlington

Bridlington Spa

01262 678258

Friday 23rd Sep 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £30.25

Lytham St. Annes

Lowther Pavilion & Gardens

01253 794221

Saturday 24th Sep 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £28.50

Newcastle Upon Tyne

Wylam Brewery Tap

0191 650 0651

Sunday 25th Sep 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Wolverhampton

The Robin 2

01902 401211

Tuesday 27th Sep 2022 7:30pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Shrewsbury

Theatre Severn

01743 281281

Wednesday 28th Sep 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £32.25

Northampton

Roadmender

03335 771688

Thursday 29th Sep 2022 7:30pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Barnsley

Birdwell Venue

01226 742 377

Friday 30th Sep 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Blackburn

King George's Hall

01254 582579

Sunday 2nd Oct 2022 7:30pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Buxton

Buxton Opera House

0845 127 2190

Tuesday 4th Oct 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £31.25

Holmfirth

The Picturedrome

01484 689759

Thursday 6th Oct 2022 7:30pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Glasgow

Òran Mór

0141 357 6200

Friday 7th Oct 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Edinburgh

The Queen's Hall

0131 668 3456

Saturday 8th Oct 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £29.15

Yarm

Princess Alexandra Auditorium

01642 786023

Sunday 9th Oct 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £29.15

New Brighton

Floral Pavilion Theatre

0151 666 0000

Tuesday 11th Oct 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £29.15

Exeter

Exeter Phoenix

01392 667080

Wednesday 12th Oct 2022 7:30pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

Bexhill-on-Sea

De La Warr Pavilion

01424 229111

Thursday 13th Oct 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £30.15

Southend-on-Sea

Palace Theatre

Saturday 15th Oct 2022 7:30pm

Standard Prices from: £31.75

Cambridge

The Junction

01223 511511

Sunday 16th Oct 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £27.50

London

Islington Assembly Hall

020 7527 8900

Tuesday 18th Oct 2022 7:00pm

Standard Prices from: £31.45

Event data: Data Thistle

Join our newsletter